Giving Keeps Getting Better

Standard
Giving Keeps Getting Better

For the past five years as Christmas approaches, I tell myself that I need to shorten my Christmas list and spend less money.  Somehow, each year I find myself caught up in a shopping whirlwind, buying more gifts than originally planned.  Before buying that first gift, I tell myself that I need to focus on reducing debt and increasing my savings.  I try to ignore my love for the pretty lights, cinnamon scented pinecones, colorful ornaments and my favorite song, “Merry Christmas Baby” by Otis Redding.  Who am I kidding? Trying to ignore those things is like trying to deny my love for chocolate, impossible!

My list normally consist of family; two daughters four grandchildren, my biological mother and brother I reunited with a year ago, friends and co-workers.  This year I had two Secret Santa parties to attend, so that made the list a bit longer.  I also like to adopt a less fortunate child or two and give to two of my favorite charities.

This year, as in years past, my Christmas list took on a life of its own and grew beyond my plans, expectations, and even my bank account.  I found myself purchasing gifts for people that the Lord obviously wanted to bless.  Now that the dust has cleared, and every gift has been given I am in awe of His provisions. I am humbled by his Love.

I should have known the Lord would take over my Christmas shopping because I could hardly wait to put up the tree in my office.  Thanksgiving dinner was still a pleasant memory and I was like a little girl again.  Christmas was the next holiday we would celebrate.  We would celebrate God’s precious gift to the whole world.  This season is about giving.

After placing my first order on Amazon, I felt it, joy bubbling up in my soul. After unloading bags and boxes, I’d tell myself, ok, I’m done only to find myself shopping again the following day.  I took that as a sign that Father was not done.

I remember what Christmases were like for me before meeting my mother.  Bittersweet days of watching my grandchildren open their gifts via Skype and feeling sorry for myself because they were miles away.

My mom, daughters and grandchildren are still miles away, but I am blessed.  I am blessed to share the bounty of God’s love with those who don’t know Him.

Each year giving gets better.

About Barbie

Over fifteen years ago I received a prophesy. The man of God said I would write for seizure, not leisure. Inspiring people and teaching the word of God is my purpose. Being a living example of of God's love is my pleasure. Seeing lives changed is my passion. I love to write fiction and non-fiction. I am the author of "The Power to Choose - A Victim No More." Available on Amazon, Barnes and Nobles and Lulu.com

Leave a comment