The Beauty of Salvation

Standard
The Beauty of Salvation

Rayonnant rose window in Notre Dame de Paris. In Gothic architecture, light was considered the most beautiful revelation of God.

John 10:9-10 “Yes, I am the gate.  Those who come in through me will be saved.  They will come and go freely and will find good pastures. The thief’s purpose is to steal and kill and destroy.  My purpose is to give them a rich and satisfying life.”

I chose to believe that the most beautiful revelation of God is a human and the most beautiful thing He has ever done for us was provide Salvation through His Son Jesus.

The word beauty means different things to different people.  For me, beauty is living the life of a believer, a follower of Jesus Christ. I am free to live my life as He purposed. I love to look up at the sky and watch the clouds change shapes.  Some days the blue of the sky looks bluer and the clouds like gigantic cotton balls, beautiful!

There are times when I hear birds singing and their songs sound like melodies from heaven.  Think about it, who taught them how to sing?  Who taught them harmonies?

The beauty of salvation gives me the ability to look at someone and see beyond the color of his or her skin.  I can also choose to ignore the flaws in their character reflects the beauty of our Savior within them.

I suppose it is easy to fall back on my carnal nature when someone says or does something to hurt me, but it is better to remember how often God has to forgive me, and I should forgive others.

Some people spend too much time focusing on religion, but Jesus didn’t bring religion to this world, He came so that we might have life.  That includes being able to focus on the beauty around us and in each other.

I will tell you something else that is beautiful to me, trusting God to work out anything and everything concerning my life.  I don’t have to spend time being angry when people try to sabotage me, not to say that I do not get angry.  I don’t have to wallow in self-pity when someone says hurtful words to me, that does not mean that I my feelings don’t get hurt.  I don’t have to focus on the negative or paranoid even though I am one of those people who believe in conspiracy theories, I just don’t allow them to consume me.

Because of the gift of Jesus, I choose to see the world through His eyes and yes, I believe the human race is beautiful.  No matter how ugly we can be to each other, we were created in the image of God and He makes everything beautiful in its time.  Ecclesiastes 3:11a “Yet God has made everything beautiful for its own time.  He has planted eternity in the human heart…”

Leave a comment